Employment Law Firm in California
Auto accidents, whether you are a driver or passenger, can be a difficult and turbulent experience. Auto accidents that involve an Uber or Lyft can be even more burdensome because ridesharing adds a layer of complexity to the whole ordeal. With the increasingly large amount of people who use ridesharing services such as Uber and Lyft, it is important to know what will happen and what steps to take if you are injured in an Uber or Lyft-related accident.
California is a fault based state. This means that whoever is responsible for the collision is considered at-fault, and those who are injured because of the at-fault driver’s actions are entitled to compensation for damages.
Determining fault for Uber and Lyft-related accidents works the same way as a typical auto accident. It is helpful to file a police report with accurate facts, get supporting witness statements, and obtain information for all parties involved.
Some common acts that can place a driver at fault in an auto accident are:
However, Uber and Lyft drivers act as independent contractors who use their own vehicles, so even when fault is determined, liability may be disputed by the ridesharing companies. In Irvine, California, the doctrine of comparative negligence allows liability to be split between parties which may reduce the amount you are awarded for damages. Therefore, you should have an experienced Irvine Uber and Lyft lawyer by your side to handle your claim against the ridesharing businesses.
If you are involved in an Uber or Lyft-related accident in Irvine, it is important to understand how rideshare insurance coverage works. There are three “periods” that determine which insurance policy and/or coverage is in effect.
No period: If the driver is NOT logged into the ridesharing app, then you are considered off the job. This means that in the event of an accident, your personal automobile insurance policy is in effect at the time for any claims.
Period 1: The Uber or Lyft driver has the application on and is awaiting a ride request. This is when the rideshare insurance kicks in. Uber and Lyft offer liability coverage limits of $50,000 per person, $100,000 per incident, and $25,000 for property damage. There is no uninsured or underinsured coverage for the driver, however, nor is there collision coverage for the vehicle, unless the driver has purchased a rideshare policy or rideshare rider through his or her personal insurance.
Period 2: When the Uber or Lyft driver has accepted a ride request and is heading to pick up the passenger(s). Uber and Lyft both offer liability and uninsured/underinsured motorist injury coverage of $1 million. However, collision coverage is contingent upon the driver having collision coverage on his or her personal automobile insurance policy.
Period 3: The driver has already picked up the passenger(s) and are on their way to the destination. During period 3, Uber and Lyft offer $1 million in liability, uninsured/underinsured coverage. However, collision coverage is dependent on whether or not the driver has collision coverage on his or her personal insurance policy.
All this information may be a lot to process and understand, so it is in your best interest to reach out to an Uber and Lyft accident attorney right away to discuss your case.
As a passenger in a ridesharing vehicle, you are never at fault in the event of a collision. Whether your Uber/Lyft driver or another driver is responsible for the accident, you will be able to recover for your injuries and damages. If another driver is at fault, you can recover from that driver’s automobile insurance. If the other driver’s coverage is insufficient or if your Uber/Lyft driver is the one at fault, you can recover under the company’s insurance policy. Both ridesharing companies offer up to $1 million in liability and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Our Irvine ridesharing accident attorneys can help you obtain a full and fair settlement if you are injured as a passenger in an Uber or Lyft.
If you are an Uber or Lyft driver in Irvine and involved in an accident, the insurance policy that comes into play depends on what “period” you are driving in. If you are not at fault, you would first recover from the at-fault driver’s insurance policy. Then, depending on what period you are driving in, you may be able to recover from Uber and Lyft’s uninsured/underinsured motorist policy for damages up to $1 million. It is crucial to have an Uber and Lyft attorney handle your injury claim to ensure you can be fully compensated.
When you are involved in an accident where an at-fault Uber or Lyft driver hits you, you may be able to file a claim with the driver’s personal insurance and/or the rideshare company’s insurance. Depending on what period the Uber/Lyft driver was in at the time of the collision, the coverage amount available varies from $15k to $1 million. To be justly compensated for your injuries and damages from all available insurance policies, contact an Uber and Lyft attorney as soon as possible.
If you are a pedestrian hit by an Uber or Lyft driver, the injuries and damages suffered can be very significant. In high damage cases, it is important to have a lawyer evaluate and determine what channels are available to you for compensation.
No matter what the circumstances are, things can get complicated if you are injured in an Uber or Lyft-related accident. Our Irvine Uber and Lyft accident lawyers can help you navigate this process and get the compensation you deserve.Don’t let the big rideshare companies intimidate you into settling for an unjustified amount. If you or a loved one have been injured in an Uber or Lyft-related accident, seek immediate medical attention and reach out to us at (888) 888-9285 for a free, no-obligation consultation with a qualified Irvine ridesharing accident lawyer or visit www.wctldevnew.wpengine.com.